A small munchkin prayer

Prayer beads

My five year old is learning how to pray.

She is using prayer beads I just gave her (they were offered to me in a box of dates from Rotana Hotel). She asked me what they were and I told her that they were beads to help you space your prayers. “What are prayers?”. “Praying is when you ask God for things, and you thank him for what he has done to you, prayers are silent wishes.”

“Can I pray not silently so you can tell me if I am doing it right?”.

“Sure.”

She was fascinated by the thought that she could actually have direct access to the giver of all things. She started speaking out loud while slowly moving the beads. These were her words (verbatim):

“Please God, give all the people in Somalia some food or else they will all starve and that won’t be good, and don’t forget Japan, please help them to build their houses. And God, please tell the tooth fairy to not forget to come to us every time we loose a tooth, And please tell Santa it’s okay to give us presents in the summer, like right now. That’s it, God, you can go now”.

This entry was posted in Comedy, Family, Human Relationships, Kids, Philosophy, Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A small munchkin prayer

  1. Mich says:

    Ohhhhhhhh!!! That’s a good start 🙂

Leave a comment