Quotes as gifts

Today I will share with you a few quotes that I believe will be an inspiration to those of you going through a rough time, or those in that kind of lull one feels during the holidays when one takes stock and reflect, sort of like I am doing now.

Here are the quotes that inspired me and that I hope will inspire you too.

I hold it true, whate’er befall;
I feel it, when I sorrow most;
‘Tis better to have loved and lost
Than never to have loved at all.

From Alfred Lord Tennyson‘s poem In Memoriam

Your living is determined not so much by what life brings to you as by the attitude you bring to life; not so much by what happens to you as by the way your mind looks at what happens.
Kahlil Gibran

I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.
Maya Angelou

I have found the paradox, that if you love until it hurts, there can be no more hurt, only more love.
Mother Teresa

A coward is incapable of exhibiting love; it is the prerogative of the brave.

Mohandas Ghandi

You, yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.
Buddha

When you reach the end of your rope, tie a knot in it and hang on.
Thomas Jefferson

Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference.

&

If you are going through hell, keep going.

Winston Churchill

There are two ways to live: you can live as if nothing is a miracle; or you can live as if everything is a miracle.
Albert Einstein

Two more days till Xmas, the time of giving and receiving gifts of peace and love. Please join me in thinking of the millions that will not have any Xmas this year, those who are sick, hungry, watching their children sleep without any dinner, no shelter, no possessions, those with nothing to give but their smiles and their hopes of a better future. Let’s all stop our mad Xmas shopping and eating for a minute and think of them, the less fortunate, and let’s glance upwards and thank the heavens and all the Gods for what we have and what we take for granted every day.

Thanks for taking the time to read my blogs and comment on them.

Brigitte

Lost Heaven

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Quotes as gifts

  1. Marianne says:

    Hello Brigitte,
    Yes we are strangers, I have had the chance to meet your sister a long time ago, and am a big fan of her artistic sensitivity.
    I have come across your blog through her facebook postings, and I have to say that the simple truth that resonates through your words can only be an inspiration.
    Happy holidays, and good luck on your endeavour.
    I definitely look forward to reading your blog entries first, and then your book.
    Thank you 🙂

  2. Nouhad Tabchoury says:

    Dear Brigitte,
    you are a magnificent person,with so much to offer to the world.You have from God a unique and pawerful treasure of gifts,talents,and potential inside you,and a heart so full of love.Allow your self to experience the true nature of your being.God gave you this donation grab it with your two hands,and thank him for that,he will be always beside you,and will give his blessing.Wish you good luck,and success.
    God bless you.kisses and love Nounou

  3. Demetri says:

    Dear Brigitte, your title in this post: “If you lose, don’t lose the lesson” is also, in my view, the perfect title for your previous story “One Christmas wish gone wrong”. Not only you have not lost the lesson(s) but you are ready to teach us some…
    I will be waiting for the book because I am sure that I will never forget how you are going to make us… feel!

  4. Juliet McKee says:

    Dear dear Brigitte – You are such a special person. Your thoughts are so full of relevance to so much going through my mind. I am so pleased you have taken the decision to pursue your book. I have just been totally absorbed in Stieg Larsson’s three novels – can’t wait for yours. Keep these wise thoughts coming – wonderful and thank YOU. With love to you all at Christmas time, Juliet

  5. Paula says:

    Hey Brigitte, Really enjoyed the read. Plunge in…I got two great pieces of advice over the years. The first from someone I will tell you about offline, but he said:”When you make a decision, and you get really scared, nervous and get that awful feeling in the pit of your stomach, then it means you made the right decision. Why? Because it means you are taking risks and moving forward, instead of making decisions that keep you in status quo.”
    The other great piece of advice I got was when I was trying to decide whether or not to go to Tajikistan after the war there, when lots of people were telling me not to go. My friend said: “When you are sixty, do you want to say you “almost” went to Tajikistan, or that you WENT to Tajikistan”.
    Look forward to more posts and enjoy Lebanon.
    xoxo
    P

  6. mimo says:

    I am so proud of you taking this leap into the unknown. I am certain of your future success. You will always have my love, support and friendship. If I had known how our future relationship would shape up I would have certainly fought less with you as a kid 😉

  7. Tatiana says:

    Thanks for sharing this. We can all relate. Congrats on your bold move. Wishing you much inspiration, satisfaction and success. Wishing you a fabulous 2010 in every way.

  8. Magda says:

    Dear Brigitte, congratulations. The project is clearly defined, which is half the job done. You have a great writing style, just as you are, no frils, but a wonderful mastering of words.
    I am really excited about your plans!
    Have a great family time of peace and happiness for all in the new year.

  9. Mirvat Abu-Khalil says:

    Brigitte, you are such a talented writer because you are such a beautiful human being..Thank you for deciding to write! Best of luck from my bottom of my heart!

  10. brigittekm1 says:

    Thanks a lot. Your comments are a great encouragement. Merry Xmas to all

  11. Nathalie says:

    Brigitte, my role model! I love reading everything you write so keep going.

  12. nance says:

    Brigitte — congradulations! half the battle is know ing what you want to do. Now that you know, go for it! and keep us posted.

  13. Carolina Hajjar says:

    Good luck Brigitte, Ur words touched me deeply..go whatever your heart takes you and it will be the right path..

  14. Ahmad Haes says:

    Well, Brigitte, I like this posting so much.

Leave a Reply

