Driving my life away…

I almost did, last night.  I was so tired after driving alone for 14 hours from Madrid to Geneva in one go with three short stops for gas.  Why on earth did I do that?  See, the problem is, I am an Aries, born in April, naturally stubborn and if I want to do something, nine times out of ten, I will get it done, no matter what.  We are nothing if not persistent, people born under the Aries sign.  Even if you don’t believe in Astrology, and I don’t really, it is still quite significant the common general traits we share with each other, people of the same Zodiac sign. A scorpio will always be mysterious and vengeful, even the most docile of them.  So, you generally know not to cross these people, they wait and lurk and sting when you least expect it.  You know that cancerians are mushy and sensitive and always think they are unloved on some level, so if you are an Aries like me, you don’t marry them, I did once and I am the wiser for it.

A lot of thoughts wash over me when I drive.  Yesterday I was driving in the dark, in the rain and fog, alone, listening to the Rosetta Stone audio Spanish CDs for the first few hours until that drove me crazy so I put my favorite music and just thought and thought.  One realization that I made was that I was going to write an honest email to a friend who is being pathetic. We do that, Aries persons, we tell people we care about what we really think. They might hate us for it, but our conscience is clear and we are often times right as honest people usually are.

Another thought that formed in my mind is that I have been taking the blessings I have too lightly.  I am not really appreciating the amazing people in my life, and tend to forget just how lucky I am to have people who love me, who I love, an amazing family, talented, smart, and beautiful children. Our three girls are the kids people dream of having and more.  They are so funny, pretty inside and out, love life, care for the unfortunate of the world (having gone to Congo, they know what misery and poverty are like and are driven to help), talented in music  and art, sporty, sociable, love their friends, loyal, have integrity,  and what more can a parent ask for?  As for our littlest bespectacled munchkin who turned four yesterday, and for whom I almost drove my life away, she is the depiction of cuteness, bright as anything (she learnt to read numbers and letters before the age of two), she’s funny, can sing, and is a distillation of innocence, happiness and the good things in life that make it worth living.

Yesterday, as I frequently opened the window to let in the chilly air, putting my arm out in the rain and cold to stay awake after numerous vending machine coffee cups failed to do the trick, I listened to my driving songs.  I compiled a mixed CD for the trip, with all my special songs I pick for long drives, below are a few of them that I love so much.

They also double as skiing songs, when a black or red slope stares back at you, and you are on the edge of the precipice, glittering snow shining like a zillion diamonds, skis itching to race down the white incline, cold breeze biting your cheeks, earphones lodged and on the ready at a dangerously high volume, ipod fully charged,  you open the zipped inside jacket pocket, fumble with your gloved hand to press play before you close the zipper and secure the apple machine, the immigrant song suddenly fills your head with the immortal tunes, and you take the plunge down the slope. The music that can make you fly. Oh yeah.

Songs: Immigrant Song by Led Zepplin, Driving my life away by Eddie Rabbitt, What’s up by 4 non-blondes, Big Yellow taxi by Counting Crows, and New Kid in Town by Eagles, and several others that I save for another post for when I drive to Florence (I’ve done that a couple of times and plan to do it again this year-passing by Cinque Terre in Liguria)

Can you imagine what our lives would be like without music? Too scary to contemplate.

led zeppelin : immigrant song (the only one I will post for space reasons)

Eager (!) young skier

Ah, ah,
We come from the land of the ice and snow,
From the midnight sun where the hot springs blow.
The hammer of the gods will drive our ships to new lands,
To fight the horde, singing and crying: Valhalla, I am coming!

On we sweep with threshing oar, Our only goal will be the western shore.

Ah, ah,
We come from the land of the ice and snow,
From the midnight sun where the hot springs blow.
How soft your fields so green, can whisper tales of gore,
Of how we calmed the tides of war. We are your overlords.

On we sweep with threshing oar, Our only goal will be the western shore.

So now you’d better stop and rebuild all your ruins,
For peace and trust can win the day despite of all your losing.

This entry was posted in art, Family, Human Relationships, love, music, Reflections, Switzerland, Trip blog, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Driving my life away…

  1. faarapu says:

    Lack of cool has definitely been a handicap. But too emotional? It’s a gift and a curse, isn’t it? Just think – an emotional surgeon! But it works, I swear. You’ll see in my FB note “sleep deprived thoughts.” Can’t wait to see the pictures 🙂

  2. faarapu says:

    Tina here. As an Arian, myself, I totally understand. Even more so seeing as how I’ve driven from NYC to Denver in 24 hours straight, stopping only for gas! Perhaps not the wisest decision and one I’m not likely to do again!

    Our friend sometimes wishes he wasn’t an Arian but I say “pftt!” 🙂 I’d rather have magnified experiences, feel things intensely, and be too honest than live a dull life.

    Glad you made it back safely for your precious one’s birthday!

    • Thanks, Tina. I did make it back, barely alive after having driven like mad with fog, night, trucks, rain and mountainous terrain. But had to make it back to her. The big party is tomorrow. I will post on facebook. Happy and unhappy being an Arian actually, the honesty and energy is good, but the lack of cool is a handicap. Oh well, we are perfect every other way, we might as well have one flaw, being too emotional. Hope you are enjoying NY.

Leave a Reply

