Heading to the desert

In three days I leave for my new job in Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates. I will be in charge of the Liaison office for the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR). I am going to the Emirates in the summer, at the time when people usually leave the place. I have a lot of responsibilities in my new function, I doubt I will even have time to think about the weather, or the stifling heat of the desert, or of the beautiful Swiss scenery I will miss and most importantly,  the beautiful amazing people I am about to leave behind to get settled in my new abode. Oh how I will miss the girls, the talented Sasha who is so loving and so sensitive as to almost be made of ultra thin crystal; the funny, self-assured multi-talented Andrea who is lost between being a goofy child and a wonderful-looking young woman who is just starting to get into the groove of being 13; and my impossibly wonderful little munchkin Monya, cuter than anything, with an unreal cuddliness factor, and smarter than any other four year old I know.

I guess the attitude to assume now is: I will be doing something very worthwhile, and although I will miss the three doll-like creatures I was responsible for bringing into the world, I will be gone for a relatively short while to do something good. I have to try and raise enough funds for a UN agency entrusted with alleviating the suffering of refugees and displaced people who not only lost their homes, possessions and sometimes loved ones, but who often lost  their dignity and the will to go on living.

If one is to measure job satisfaction and worthwhile causes to work for, I can think of very few that equal this cause of working for families, women and children and once proud men desperately depending on the international community to go back home or find a new home, new hope, a new life that is suitable enough for a human being. Millions of our brothers in humanity are uprooted from villages, towns, and cities by the violence of other men or a violent natural wrath on their country as what happened in Haiti at the beginning of the year.

As I am overwhelmed with packing my papers, clothes, gadgets and books, I am also packing my resolve, courage, and feelings of “all will be okay” for my loved ones.

I think my next post will be from the Gulf with my impressions of my new life. Inshallah.

Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Current affairs commentary, Family, Human Relationships, love, Reflections, Refugees, United Nations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Heading to the desert

  1. andy says:

    I love you mom, and i miss you. this is truly amazing 🙂 xx

  2. mimokhair says:

    You are awesome! I love you as a proud sister should 🙂

  3. faarapu says:

    Women like you inspire me. Hope to finally meet in Dubai next month. Inshallah.

    ~Tina

  4. Anonymous says:

    Barjout! You are an amazing creature! Best of luck and be happy.

  5. caline chaya says:

    Brigitte,
    Tres emouvante, tres touchante et surtout tres humaine ta lettre de depart pour les emirats-unis. Ca prend bcp de courage et de determination ce que tu vas entreprendre. Je te souhaite tout le succes possible. Rien ne m’etonne de ta part ya Sit Brigitte!!!!!
    You are such a great person!
    keep us posted
    love you
    caline

  6. Anonymous says:

    Love the picture of your three beauties. As I reenter the world, post-ballet, sorry to read I will miss you when Eddy and I come to Geneva next week.

    Wish you all the best in the emirates.

    A bientot.
    Meera

  7. Anonymous says:

    good luck brigitte, not that you need luck as you are truly blessed x.

  8. Becky says:

    Great piece, B! You have always done worthwhile work, even when not in an office, AND you are a VERY strong woman. We met over ten years ago, when times were trying for both of us, so I know what I’m talking about! BEST of luck in the new job, though I’m sure you’ll shine – as you usually do!

  9. Paola says:

    Dear Brigitte,

    what a lovely piece you wrote to announce your departure for Adu Dhabi. I truly admirer you!
    Three beautiful and talented girls, so much allready done not only as a mother but as a woman in your field and so much more to do in the future!
    I think someone like you is, in the back of my mind all that we women would like to be…
    Intelligent, smart, strong,connected with the world and its realities which at times, more often than not are not always happy ones. You also know how to be funny when the time call for it and last but not least a heart of gold!

    I am very fortunate to know you and be able to follow you through your writing, your photography and reports on Sacha, Andrea and little Monya, herself a little star in her own right! Is so true that the apple never fall too far from the tree…. metaphorically to me you are like a beautiful strong tree, just like the cypress of Lebanon your beloved country, not only for your family but for all your friends who love you!
    Take care, beat the heat of your new envirorment and looking forward to your future writings….I know you will find time in your busy schedule!

    With lots of love and congratulations for your new posting,

    Paola

  10. Sasha says:

    I love you mom, you are amazing ❤

Leave a Reply

