Conversation over pancakes

My six-year-old and I share a love of pancakes on weekends.  Some of our most giggly moments are spent in the kitchen mixing the batter and arguing about what shapes to make.  I can usually fool her into accepting simple shapes like ‘the moon’, ‘the sun’,  ‘flower’ or even ‘a crescent moon’. Today she asked for a mermaid!!

“A what?! I can’t even start to make that!”

“Just imagine the batter is a pen, mom.” She said calmly, looking at me as she would a confused puppy over the rims of her glasses.

“I don’t even know how to draw it WITH a pen.”

“Fine, then, an elephant.”

“NOOO, pick something simpler.”

“Shrek.”

“Ahhhh”.  I tried, conjuring up all my dexterity. I presented it proudly.

“This looks like an alien, not Shrek”, said the condescending kid. “It’s fine, I will eat it along with your planets that are really just round shapes. I’m hungry”.

Cut to…

Eating the pancakes at the table, she said: “You know, there is this girl in my school, and I don’t like her. She tries to play with my best friend all the time.”

“Who is she? Will she be at the birthday party you’re invited to this afternoon?”

“Yeah, she’ll be there”.

“How will I recognize her?”

“She’s the mean one.”

“Could you be more specific?”

“She has a mean name that makes her sound like a witch.”

“Why is her name weird?”

“It sound Turkish. Or maybe from Kazakhstan!!!”

“What? What’s wrong with Turkish names?”

Cut to…

“Will Max be there?” Max is the French boy she likes in her class.

“No, he is going to another party.” She paused, thinking. “I don’t think Max likes me anymore.  He said he likes the new girl with blonde hair.”

“I’m sure he likes you. Everyone likes you.”

“Mom.”

“Yeah?”

“Do you use crayons to make your hair change color? Or paint? Can you buy me some yellow spray paint?”

“Um, uh. Look, you finished your pancakes! Let’s go get ready for that party.”

Note to self: Hide ALL paint material in the house…

And just think, in a mere ten years, she’ll be a full blown ‘rational’ teenager like the other two.  Someone just shoot me.Image

Aside | This entry was posted in Comedy, Family, Kids, Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Conversation over pancakes

  1. Ryan says:

    An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a co-worker who had been doing a little research on this. And he in fact ordered me dinner simply because I found it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about this subject here on your blog.

  2. Patsy Locke says:

    She is beautiful, Brigitte! I can’t imagine how you handle all you have to do. I only have one child, a son who is now 27. When he was about six, we were in the car. I had picked him up from daycare after work and a 90 minute commute and I was thinking about how I was going to fit in dinner, his karate lesson, picking up dry cleaning, etc. He was chitter chattering away, it was that age when he was non-stop talking. I handed him his electronic game and said “Sweetie, Mommy’s head is already full of so many voices telling me what to do right now, I just can’t add another one. There’s just no more room. So can you please play with your game while I’m driving?” He paused and seemed to be looking intently at my head and ears and said “Doesn’t that hurt?” Out of the mouths of babes.. I love reading your posts, thank you for sharing! -Pat

Leave a Reply

