Karma, explained.

IMG_3040

Sitting in my room, my seven-year-old comes and sits next to me on my bed.  “Mom, do you realize that I have been behaving nicely?”

“Yes, you have been great. Hardly misbehaving. I’m proud of you.”

“Great, so that means you are getting me another petshop.”

“Um, no. There is no occasion to get you toys now. It’s not your birthday. We don’t get gifts in the middle of the year, just like that.”

“Oh really? What about when you got me petshops when you came back from New York?”

“That was different, I was travelling.”

“Still, it was in the middle of the year, and it wasn’t my birthday. Just like now. So that means you can get me petshops now.”

“Actually, no. I don’t think I have to.”

Under her breath, she said: “Karma is real, you know.”

“What was that?”

“Karma. Be careful what you do to your daughter. It comes back to you.”

“Where on earth did you hear about Karma?”

“I can google things you know.”

“Oh. And what did you learn about Karma then? What is it? Is it a thing you can see?”

“Actchully, it is for real. People who do bad things get Karma.You don’t buy your kids toys, you won’t get what you want either. You will be sad and angry and you can never tell why this is happening to you. Like in school, Malek told me to shut up, and then he fell in the playground. Karma.”

“We are still not getting any toys. And I would like you to know that I don’t believe in Karma.”

“You don’t need to believe in it. It is real anyway.” Shaking her head pitifully, “I think you should really think about this. It is only one petshop.”

Note to self: Ban her from the internet. Yesterday.

This entry was posted in Family, Human Relationships, Kids, Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Karma, explained.

  1. Rima J. says:

    I think she has a point. I say buy her the petshop;-)

  2. intersint53 says:

    Thanks for Your letter. It is intresting. Kindly Sergey Borodulin27.04.2013, 15:32, “Brigitte’s Blog” <comment-reply@wordpress.com>: Brigitte posted: ” Sitting in my room, my seven-year-old comes and sits next to me on my bed. ”Mom, do you realize that I have been behaving nicely?” “Yes, you have been great. Hardly misbehaving. I’m proud of you.” “Great, so that means you are getting me anothe”

  3. Patsy Locke says:

    Karma indeed.. Can’t slip much by the kids these days, can we? Amazing how they have that selective memory of what we say or do that pops up at the most inopportune time for us, but spendidly opportune for them. “But you told me when I was 5 years old that I could take that dining room table with me to college because you bought it just before you went into labor with me! ” Really? He remembers this for 13 years? And now my only child will be moving to Geneva in September, to play in the symphony there for a year. Are you anywhere near there, Brigitte, when in Switzerland? Would love to know someone there he could ask questions of. He is 27 now, and a gentleman. A fine arts fella well versed in the viola and wine, which is one of his other jobs. Thank you for your post, I so enjoy them! -Pat

  4. Anonymous says:

    She scares me. She’s too smart for our own good.

Leave a Reply

